Ruffles have ridges…Do eggs?

Click on the picture above and take a close look at the egg.  It is full of ridges and wrinkles.  Do older chickens lay older looking eggs?  Ha!

Seriously, that is one odd looking egg.

This entry was posted in eggs.

9 comments on “Ruffles have ridges…Do eggs?

  1. Ian says:

    I found that these wer generally produced by a hen that was just starting to lay again.

  2. Stacy Davis says:

    Ouch! lolI have some eggs that are rough in texture…but that egg is crazy! Is the shell extra hard?

  3. Chai Chai says:

    Ian – They all have been laying so I have no idea what happened with this egg.Stacy – The egg is extra wide and thick feeling, it is over sized for the egg container!

  4. That is an odd looking egg. I have seen some with a little ridge but none like that. Hugs, Bobbi Jo

  5. Mary Ann says:

    I've had several like that, and they were ALL from the elderly hens!

  6. Chai Chai says:

    Bobbi Jo – The whole egg is full of ridges and wrinkles, it is thick and heavy too.Mary Ann – This hen just turned three and this is her 2nd full year of laying. Is that old for a chicken?

  7. Ohiofarmgirl says:

    we get some like that from time to time…. sometimes you just get a crazy egg. 😀

  8. I have one chicken that always lays eggs that look just like that now. She is 3 I believe, or will be 3 next month. She is a bantam hen, and it seems the small birds don't live as long as the larger birds, or that's just what I believe. Her eggs have a thin shell, when I crack the bumpy egg the shell almost crumbles. I have been giving the birds extra calcium since this started, but it hasn't stopped her from laying these odd bumpy eggs. I eat these eggs myself, I don't give them to other people like I do with most of my eggs, as they just look odd… ~Lynn

  9. Chai Chai says:

    OFG – I already have one chicken that lays very sandpaper like and fragile eggs, all I need is for miss "wrinkles" to add to my odd egg collection.Lynn – I have to admit that this egg was targeted for the Commanders plate!

Leave a Reply

