It’s Cold Outside

DSC03928

What do you do when it is -6F outside? You go stand in the sun and soak some rays into your hair!

DSC03927

When I went in to the barn this morning to feed the goats poor Gidget had frost all around her mouth. I had to give her a good rub down to warm her up.

DSC03926

Everyone has their hair all puffed out in an attempt to stay warm. A little grain at night gets everyone’s heat engine going, but they still snuggle up together to keep warm. I found little Mia under the hay rack with Gidget and Pebbles tucked in tight around her. Addison and Chip were nestled in the igloo and I’m not sure what Becca Boo was up to.  It is supposed to get down to -18F tonight so I’ll have to keep a close eye on everyone!

This entry was posted in Goats.

12 comments on “It’s Cold Outside

  1. Wow, that is cold! We hardly ever get into the single digits, let alone below zero!

  2. Carolyn says:

    Keep everyone warm! My goats are too dumb to go into the NUMEROUS little goat-igloos, sheds or barn….they all just sleep UNDER the barn. Although it doesn’t get as cold here as it does by you. I think we’re supposed to get down to 18 in a few nights, so that’s been the coldest so far.

    • Chai Chai says:

      Carolyn – Nothing is more annoying when the animals don’t do what you think is good for them. I guess this is why I find myself annoyed almost every day!

  3. ohiofarmgirl says:

    holy moly with that cold! we are gettin’ ours in the next couple of nites. but not that bad! zoikes!

  4. Nana says:

    Where are their down filled vest? Poor Gidget looks likes a big ball. Tell them nana misses all of them.

    • Chai Chai says:

      Nana – Gidget is getting big, she definitely has a few little ones in there. I don’t have jackets for everyone, Mia may be the only one wearing one this year.

  5. Teresa says:

    We’ve been pretty cold too, but not that cold. I have one old goat that isn’t doing well with the cold weather. Hope you all stay warm.

  6. Tombstone Livestock says:

    I had made cordoroy coats for the girls sheep/goats when they were showing in 4H wish I had them now, I am sure there are a couple of goats that would like them …. they were not waterproof, but for inside that doesn’t matter. They were easy enough to make …. do I need another project? Going to get down to the 20’s next couple of nights.

    Happy New Year, stay warm.

Leave a Reply

