Is This Thing On?

DSC03880

I haven’t posted for a while, we have been so busy around here. Last week was terrible for us with both Lara (above) and Bablo dieing. The night before their deaths they were both hopping around playing and eating then boom – they were gone. Both the Commander and I are heart broken as it was obvious that Lara was pregnant as well. I have no idea what happened.

The last two days here have been brutally cold. We have woken to -21 F and -19 F actual and seen the wind chill go below -40 F. I haven’t let any of the animals or chickens even out of their barns for fear of frostbite and their freezing to death. Both morning when I went out to give the animals fresh water I found their hair and wool covered in frost – brrr. I gave everyone good rubdowns until they smelled gassy to make sure their rumans were going.

I sure hope it warms up soon.

11 comments on “Is This Thing On?

  1. ohiofarmgirl says:

    oh no! a tough loss. i’m so sorry – this cold has really just been horrible.

  2. Anonymous says:

    And here I was, complaining about 50 degrees….

  3. Teresa says:

    So sorry to hear about this. It certainly has been a hard winter for the animals.

    • Chai Chai says:

      Teresa, Such is farm life. I am This Winter really had us down for a while but with Spring finally arriving (there is still just under 2 feet of snow on the ground) I’m hoping to start the blog back up.

  4. Victoria in CT says:

    It has been a month since you last posted – Hope everything is okay with you and yours. I always enjoy you posts.

  5. Lynn says:

    Hey, I miss you! I hope all is going well and you can return to blogland! 🙂

Leave a Reply

