Secret, Secret Identity

I haven’t been able to blog much this year because I took a on job as a Disaster Case Manager helping victims from last year’s flood.  My office is located inside a building sharing space with a Bank.  Today as I came inside I noticed that the door to the Bank was wedged open with a file folder – odd.

After a while one of my coworkers barged in to the office and blurted out; “Thank goodness you are here!”  She then looked over her shoulder and cried out; “She’s here!  I found the Goat Lady!” Her next question had me perplexed; “How are you with bats?”  My answer didn’t seem to register with her, I stated that I was no great athlete and if they are making up a team I really don’t have time.  Once again she called out to no one in particular; “We’ll be right over!”

Image my surprise, who in the world could she be talking to?  My coworker immediately told me that they needed my help over in the bank, so now I was really confused.

We walked over to the Bank where I noted that all the workers were ducking down low and hiding around their desks.  Did I just walk into a robbery, a hostage situation, what the heck was going on?  I noticed everyone, men and women, kept staring up at the ceiling.  So not to be rude I too looked up and discovered that a bat (the flying mammal kind) was gently hanging from a side corner of the wall.  “For goodness sakes, you want me to catch this thing?”

I looked around and spotted a small trash can and a carpet square and came up with a plan, all I needed was a ladder.  One of the women from the Bank worked up her courage and went a got a ladder and actually offered to hold it while I climbed up.  I wasn’t really excited about scaling the rickety ladder to catch a bat of all things, but no one else was showing any inclination to make a move to address the situation.

So up I went, all the while talking gently to the bat in hopes that it would decide to burrow into my hair.  I carefully pushed the trash can over the bat and then slipped the carpet square between the wall and the can top, pinning the bat inside.  No one was interested in holding the can while I climbed down so I had to manage the process on my own.

Once safely on the ground I asked where they wanted me to deposit the bat and they didn’t really care, so long as it was outside.  So out I went, where does one place a bat in the middle of the day in a small town?  I wasn’t looking forward to the bat flying out of the can into my face so I located a small bush and slid the can under it – releasing the bat.

When I finally returned to the Bank the workers there were calling me Bat Girl.  I started out the day as apparently mild manned “Goat Girl” and ended the day as “Bat Girl”, who knew?

8 comments on “Secret, Secret Identity

  1. ian holIand says:

    You be the Man! This would be a great time to talk about a raise or promotion. No, you already got recognition, hold out for money! :-}

  2. ohiofarmgirl says:

    goats? bats? all kinda the same right?everyone is famous in a small town – you, baby, are a superstar! whooot!

  3. Mary Ann says:

    Gosh, I haven’t seen a post from you in ages… I am so glad to see you, bat and all!

  4. Lynn says:

    Hi there! This is an awesome story! Batgirl! I love it!

    I know what you mean about not having time to post! We all have lives to live, who has time anymore to write about it?

    • Chai Chai says:

      Lynn – Every year we make a book out of the years posts and I realized how much we would be missing so I’m just going to have to make time to post!

Leave a Reply

