Fox Attack!

100_1240

The signs were there, we should have been more on guard. A week ago one of the last two guinea girls disappeared. I knew she wasn’t sitting a nest as most of her eggs had already been collected – it was too soon. Then this morning the Commander found the remains of a bunny that had been hanging out around here, but I though maybe Molly had gotten it.

I needed to make a quick run to the store so I grabbed my keys and headed out the door. As I was walking to the car I heard the guinea boys start to go crazy. I looked over to the sheep barn and saw the new mysterious stranger guinea boy flying in a dive bombing manner. I quickly made my way over to the action as he made a second run….and then I saw a large fox trying to run off with one of the roosters!

The fox had the rooster in its mouth and I didn’t have a stick, the dogs were inside, and the shotgun was upstairs. The only thing I had was my keys so I started jingling them as loud as I could. The fox dropped Leopold (who ran towards me to safety) and darted towards the woods, but seeing Leopold running for me it decided to charge at me. I have a bit of experience with crazy foxes so I held my ground and yelled at him, and then I charged! He made a clean getaway into the woods.

The fox was big enough that I have to worry about it trying to grab one of the goat babies. I think the sheep are too big for it to tackle. The chickens and guineas are in trouble unless we watch them or the dogs are out on patrol.

Looks like I need to get my hunting cloths ready.

A Girl and Her Gun

8 comments on “Fox Attack!

  1. Mary Ann says:

    I have never seen a fox run at a human… the foxes here are little, like the one pictured… and I don’t know that they could successfully carry a goat kid, two of which we have now, with a third on the way. That was pretty brave of you!

    • Chai Chai says:

      Mary Ann – This fox was bigger than the one in the picture. Fox are smart animals and will do what is necessary to eat so I’m not fooling around with it. It may not be able to carry off one of the kids but it could kill it for sure.

  2. ohiofarmgirl says:

    get yer gun, baby, give that fox hell. let me know if you need reinforcements. *battle horn sounds in the background as the rally calls troops to formation……*

    • Chai Chai says:

      OFG – Not everyone is handy with a hatchet! My dogs may not be “Dire Wolves” but they can bark really loud (so the neighbors tell me). The fox knows food is here so it may not end well.

  3. Lynn says:

    Go get ’em! We always have fox issues, always, it’s just a part of farm life. Sadly the guineas pay the price. Randy just killed a large fox about a week ago, so right now things are quiet here. But that could change tomorrow.

    Yes, fox are smart. And I bet they have kits in their dens and want to provide fresh chicken or guinea to their babies.

    Good luck!

    • Chai Chai says:

      Lynn – I don’t have anything against foxes but I just don’t want them hanging around here. It is always bad for the guineas but with so few left the chickens are next on the menu.

  4. Luke says:

    Fox killer. Way to protect the environment. Keep this up and there will be no foxes left. Farmers suck.
    Hope you have a bad harvest.

    Signed
    Farm hater

Leave a comment